Summary

ALEKSINAC VALLEY THROUGH THE ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISIONS FROM THE MIDDLE AGE TILL THE LIBERATION OF THE TURKISH RULE

In the period of the Nemanjić dynasty, on the territory of Aleksinac valley, there were two zhupas, Zagrlata and Uska on the left bank of the South Morava River, and Pomoravlje zhupa on the right bank. Later, due to the danger from the Turks, Pomoravlje zhupa became a separate military-administrative unit *frontier*, with its headquarters in Lipovac. With the fall under the Turkish rule, Aleksinac settlements were found in several nâhiyes: Bovan, Kruševac, Niš, and Aleksinac nâhiye appeared at the beginning of the XVIII century.